

4th Students' Convention

Opportunity I Novelty I Entrepreneurship

The fourth Students' Convention, as a part of CIFEST One23, was inaugurated by the Dr. Himanshu Pathak, Director General, ICAR and Secretary, DARE on 20th March 2023. The convention flagged off with cultural programmess organized by the B.F.Sc. students from 26 fisheries colleges all over India.

Dr. Ravishankar C.N., Director and Vice-Chancellor, ICAR-CIFE welcomed the guests and Dr. N. P. Sahu, Joint Director introduced the theme of the convention based on the concept of One23, comprising of Opportunities, Novelty and Entrepreneurship.

The key note address by Dr. J.K Jena, DDG, Fisheries Science on 21st March 2023 and Dr. Dilip Kumar, Former Vice-Chancellor/Director, ICAR-CIFE and Dr. P. Krishnan, Director, BOBP, Chennai were the Guests of Honour.

In his key note address, Dr. Jena focussed on the importance of species diversification and blue transformation for the achievement of sustainable development goals. He also emphasised on the role of fisheries students in shaping national fisheries and aquaculture, and contributing to the sector globally.

This was followed by two parallel sessions on "Next Generation Teaching" and "Climate Change", where students from different fisheries colleges presented their ideas in the form of concepts, posters and models, most of them centred around the use of technology and artificial intelligence tools. Majority of the students suggested blended learning with stress on practical exposure and simulation as the Next Gen Teaching method. As part of the convention, an open e-poster competition was also conducted among the fisheries professionals of the country on "How to improve fish consumption in India". In total, 47 posters were received from 32 colleges for the e-poster competition. The messages received from the Deans of various colleges and selected posters were included in the souvenir. A total of 200 students from 26 colleges participated in the event.

The Fourth Students' Convention at ICAR-CIFE concluded with the valedictory session where Dr. J. K. Jena, DDG, Fisheries gave away the prizes for winners of cultural programme, poster and oral presentations, model making and the overall champions.

The programme was co-ordinated by Dr. B.B. Nayak, Dr. Rupam Sharma, Dr. Paramita Banerjee Sawant, Dr. Amjad Balange, Dr. Arvind Sonwane, Dr. Shamna N and Dr. Neha Qureshi.

The convention ended with vote of thanks proposed by Dr. B. B. Nayak, Dean (Academics), ICAR-CIFE, Mumbai.





















